Ex Ph.D students and theses titles:

  • C. K. Leena Chandran ( KRSIT, I.I.T., Mumbai, India)

           Theoretical Studies on Impurity Models of Mixed  Valence, 1987

  • Mangal C Mahato (faculty, Physics Dept., NEHU, Shillong, India)

          (jointly with Prof. Rahul Pandit and T. V. Ramakrishnan)

           Applications of Density - Wave Theory, 1989

  • Madan Rao (faculty, Raman Research Institute, Bangalore, India)

          (jointly with Prof Rahul Pandit)

          Hysteresis in Model Spin Systems, 1989

  • Arghya Taraphder (faculty, Physics Dept., IIT Kharagpur, India))

           (jointly with Prof.s T V Ramakrishnan, and Rahul Pandit)

           Theoretical Studies of Some models of High-Tc Oxide Superconductors, 1991

  •  Surajit Sengupta (faculty, SNBNCBS, Kolkota, India)

           (jointly with Prof. T. V. Ramakrishnan)

           Studies in the density functional theory of freezing: relative stability of F.C.C. & B.C.C.
           structures; colloids, interfaces and the ux lattice in high Tc superconductors, 1992

  •  Jaydeb Chakrabarti (faculty, SNBNCBS, Kolkota, India)

           (jointly with Prof.s T V Ramakrishnan, and A. K Sood)

           Density Functional and Computer Simulation Studies of Colloidal Suspensions, 1995

  •  Pinaki Majumdar (faculty, HRI, Allahabad, India)

           Mott-Hubbard phenomena : Studies within the local approximation, 1997

  • Chinmay Das (Research associate, Univ. of Leeds, UK)

           (jointly with Prof. T V Ramakrishnan)

           Theoretical Studies of Laser Modulated Colloids, 2001

  •  N. S. Vidhyadhiraja (faculty, JNCASR, Bangalore, India)

            Spectra and Transport in Strongly Correlated Electron Systems using Iterated
            Perturbation Theory, 2001

  •  S. R. Hassan (Research Associate, LPT-ENS, Paris, France)

           Dynamical mean- eld theory of Falicov-Kimball and Related Models and their  
           application to CMR Phenomana in   Manganites, 2003

  •  Pinaki Chaudhuri (Faculty, Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai, India)(jointly with Prof.s A K Sood and Chandan Dasgupta)

           Crystalline and Glassy states in Hard Sphere Colloids: Density Functional and Simu¬lational Studies, 2006

  •  Prabhuddha Sanyal  (Faculty, IIT Roorkee, India)

           Theoretical Study of Some Transport and Spectroscopic Phenomena in Two Materials Showing Large
            Magnetoresistance, 2007

  •  Nandan Pakhira   (Senior Research Associate, IIT Khargpur)

           Spectral and Transport Properties of Falicov-Kimball Related Models and their applica¬tion to Manganites, 2009

  •  Tathagat Avatar Tulsi   (Currently Faculty, IIT Bombay, Mumbai, India)

           Generalizations of the Quantum Search Algorithm, 2009

  •  Srijan Kumar Saha    (Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics, Halle, Germany)

           Structural, elec¬tronic and vibrational properties of n-layer graphene with and without doping: A the¬oretical 
           study, 2010

  •  Subhro Bhattacharjee    (Faculty, International Centre for Theoretical Sciences, Bangalore, India)

          Some Unconventional Phases and Phase Transitions in Condensed Matter: Spin-Nematics, Spin Liquids,     
          Deconfined Critical points and Graphene NIS Junctions,2010

  •  Manjari Gupta     (post-doctoral fellow, HRI, Allahabad)

         Studies of Ultracold Bosons in Optical Lattices using Strong-coupling Expansions, submitted July 2016

Current Students

Pramod Kumar Verma

Gaurav Kumar Gupta

Aabhaas Vineet Mallik

Soumen Kumar Bag